#7 CHITLIN’S (CHITTERLINGS)

30 12 2009

Political Crusaders like Martin Luther King, Jr. Malcolm X, and the lovely Rosa Parks fought for Civil Rights and Freedoms that we now sometimes take for granted. They fought for Equality, Liberty, and the further Pursuit of Happiness for Minorities, and after all of that, can you please tell me one thing in this day and age..WHY IN THE FUCK ARE PEOPLE STILL EATING CHITTERLINGS??!!!

This is WAAAAY beyond me, why AFTER SLAVERY HAS BEEEEEN OVER fools still feel the need to eat THE COLON OF A PIG! Not the Colon of a Goat, who primarily has a Vegetarian diet, but they still WANT to eat PIG ASSHOLE.  Look, I don’t care how far in the South you live and or how much of a Delicacy you THINK they are…IT’S NOT A FUCKIN DELICACY! So let’s define Delicacy…Shall we?..

delicacy |ˈdelikəsē| noun ( pl. -cies)

1. the quality of being delicate, in particular 2. a choice or expensive food

______________________________________________________________________

For 1. Chitlin’s aren’t DELICATE

For 2. Chitlin’s aren’t EXPENSIVE

But 3. Chitlin’s are a not a CHOICE that even Slaves would’ve wanted in their Diet.

HERE’S WHAT I KNOW ABOUT “CHITLIN’S” (aka SHITLIN’S)

  1. Slaves ate them because Slave Owners took the choice meats and left the Discarded Pieces to them.
  2. They SMELL to High Heaven…maybe because they were once full of SHIT!
  3. It has to be the most Disrespectful Piece of Meat that ANYONE could ever Serve.
  4. We live in the year 2000’s and are no longer FENDING FOR FOOD SCRAPS. Homeless people don’t even eat Chitlin’s. WTF!
  5. IF YOU HAVE TO CLEAN YOUR MEAT WITH BLEACH..SOMETHING IS NOT RIGHT!!!
  6. Anyone who thinks that they’re good are still TOO CLOSE TO SLAVERY and might not know that we have a BLACK PRESIDENT. (yeah, it actually happened!)

Like Doo-Doo didn’t just come out of, what you call, food that you just SLATHERED Hot Sauce ON! Did you think that the Hot Sauce will disintegrate or somehow burn the FECAL MATTER off of your tongue?

Once you’ve realized that you’ve gotten your FREEDOM PAPERS, you can know that you no longer have to eat PIG ENTRAILS anymore.  And for those that want to leave me a comment like…”DAMN YOU NILE EVANS, CHITLIN’S TASTE GREAT!” I then want you to take your Hat off ,Curl it up in your hands and after doing a Handbone dance for me, REWRITE your comment like you would really say it ..”NO SIR, BOSS! I LOVES ME SOME CHITLINS! THEYS GOOD!”

THERE’S A LOT OF THINGS IM COOL WITH…BUT CHITLIN’S…I’M COOL ON THAT!

@NILEEVANS on TWITTER  & To  Share this COPY… http://bit.ly/CHITLINS

COMMENTS ARE APPRECIATED(below)!

Actions

Information

151 responses

30 12 2009
robin

NO BULLSHIT!!!! (no pun intended) i was just saying the same thing to my friends the other day… Chitterlings and souse… haven’t we evolved past his by now? people are choosing to eat pig intestines…. what is wrong with this picture?

23 02 2011
Terri

Dear Nile … it’s ok for you not to like chitlins … I don’t … but it’s not ok for you not to known, understand and respect … making something platabale. And many every culture have a survival food that the honor and respect how and why it came about … on food TV folks ate fermented shark that smelled and taste bad, but their fore father/ mothers survied off it in hard times and they eat it once a year to remerber and hornor their survival. The Vikings refused to eat fish when beef wash not avaiable and choose to starve to death I do eat one small chitlin’s on new year day with black eye peas, greens and corn bread and you should to and when you eat it say thank you for choosing to survive! So stop being an ingorant brat and have some respect.

30 12 2009
Madisellah Rocha

LMAO!! So True!! The stench will permeate everything in your house… Maybe that’s when folks decided to cover their furniture in plastic LOL!

30 12 2009
Maria$exy

Nile you are on point as usual with this! I agree! WTF are still eating that shizz? It angers me that”black” folks still eat them! Ugh!

30 12 2009
Geebiz

I have NEVER and will NEVER eat those stinky, booty tubes!! Yeah I said NEVER! I smelled em being cooked one time and that’s all I needed!! “Curled your hat up and do a handbone dance” is frickin hysterical! LMBO!

30 12 2009
nileevans

LMAO @ “BOOTY TUBES”

30 12 2009
precious

i use to feel the same way but i eat them every now and again. they are good to an certain degree but if u if u clean then good enough they don’t stank. and you don’t clean them with bleach at least we don’t

30 12 2009
KiiMii_MARiiE

My pops LOVES chittlins…..that shit is DISGUSTING!!

30 12 2009
@sprstar0608

Ugh! The thought of chitlins makes me want to curl up and die, I would rather starve! I have never actually tasted a chitlin, but the smell is so repulsive who in the fuck would eat it by choice?!? I know some 80’s babies that love chitlins and I was raised on the east coast! I am just puzzled by this what gives you the thought ‘yeah let me try this side dish that smells like shit and looks like vomit on a plate, its good just need some hot sauce!’ WTF! Anyway your always funny Nile! Another truth told although the topic made my skin crawl lol.

30 12 2009
Rob

As raw as that was… That’s what’s up! See I never studied on the history of it I just knew even as a kid when fam would be preparing that ish in the back room by the smell that it wasn’t made for human consumption… But you hit the nail on the coffin with that slave talk! Poeple don’t know how many habbits we’ve adapted to through slavery. These learned behaviors seem so natural to us that we’ve totally forgotten where they root from… From the food we eat, how we respond to violent attacks and vioaltions of personal space to the religion we stock our faith in… Wake up Poeple!

30 12 2009
Melissa

If you are a Boondocks fan, watch the episode on “The Itis”….hilarious!!!

30 12 2009
Dre

Nile I couldn’t say it any better bro!! I personally don’t know anyway that eats pig ass lol! But why would anyone in this century would want too is beyond me.

But the take of ya hat,curl it up in ya hands and do the handbone dance line! Lmao CLASSIC!

30 12 2009
ReLyn

I am learning so much by reading these blogs…LMAO…Americans still eat slave food. Seriously why would you want to eat something you need a household cleaner to get rid of the smell. I was in New York and someonasked if I wanted scrapple and my dumb ass said yes. I thought they meant snapple. The chick brings out some spam looking meat I literally puked in my hans, she laughed.

I recently go my black card revoked because I don’t eat pork or chickn right now. I love some of Granny’s homemade fried chicken but when you educate yourself on how pigs and chickens are raised you will take a long break from eating it daily.

30 12 2009
Keta

I think I’m about to be sick and I have not had any of the chits since I was a teenager and I thought they were good. Thanks to you (NILE) this post just reminds me why I no longer partake.

30 12 2009
armygirlsgt

I personally believe that if u eat those nasty smelling things u are single handily setting back the African American race 100 or so years….that’s just nasty I’m blessed to have never had to taste them and plus I gave up pork couple years ago..some of yall may wanna follow suit. Damn pig guts…

30 12 2009
jamie

Lmao, you are so right about this. My family is from florida and i can remember when i was younger they would bring that big red bucket in and that was my cue to leave b/c i wanted no parts of cooking ,cleaning, and def not eating a chitling. But not only did you make me laugh and reminisce but you also taught me some history b/c i was not aware of how or why people started eating such a disgusting dish. So thank you, Mr. Evans

30 12 2009
Will Ivey

LMAO @ the big red buckets. I forgot that they came in the red buckets with the white lids.

30 12 2009
Lavar

Yo I gotta disagree on this one jack. I’ve been eating chitlins since I was a kid, and I know if you soaked them in vinegar for a little bit they won’t smell when you cook them. Hey, you say you won’t eat them, but did you know there is no part of an animal that doesn’t get ate? After they’re finished cutting the pork chops and steaks and all that good stuff, they grind the rest like the head (with everything in it) toes, tail etc. and make ground beef and weiners and bologna. So while I agree Chitlins do stink, you can’t say that you won’t eat it because it’s likely you already have

30 12 2009
Melissa

I don’t think bologna was made by accident. They figure “niggas will eat anything!” and based on the black communities consumption of pig feet, pig ears (and any other pickled pig parts on the liquor store counter)…they were right!

22 11 2012
Jennifer

Lavar, I agree with you. However , it’s truly sad to read the racial remarks about slavery. I am a white female and it hurts to know how these individuals were treated. There is a God and those who have and still are mistreating others will pay.

30 12 2009
Shaina N.

I’m with you Nile. Why people would eat those shitty shits is beyond me… That’s a part of our history that I wouldn’t mind forgetting. Funny post, as usual 🙂

30 12 2009
[pronounced rah-nee-see-ah]

LMAO @ booty tubes. that just makes it even more gross, gross & gross!

my grandmother cooks them every year on New Years day. she states that from Southern tradition that pork symbolizes prosperity (as well as greens reppin money & black eyed peas for good look). and every year my question is:

“Can we just have a pork roast or porkchops instead?”

#justsayin

30 12 2009
Jaz

Never tried em but I def don’t want to start now after this lol.

30 12 2009
Melissa

Being a Louisiana native, and Boudin lover, I was disgusted to find out that “chitterlings” is what they used to make the casing! YUCK!!!! Call me uppity if you want, but this southern gal don’t do: chitterlings, pigs feet and especially bologna…and because I love my kids, they eat NONE of the above as well.

Some of you may very well enjoy this mess with hot sauce and on/over bread, but it still doesn’t negate the fact that your eating SHIT!!!!

30 12 2009
Mscreative1

My sisters love that shit! SMH never catch me eating that mess! Yuk!

30 12 2009
stel

Thank you for this post. I am from the south and i cant stand the booty tubes either!!! I have been screaming this since I was a lil kid to my family.. It nothing that you can do to clean them or make them smell any better if you have ever been subjected to being in the same room as them thing!!! Awesome post..

30 12 2009
Brandale

This post is very timely. For those that don’t know the folklore in the black community is that on New Years we are supposed to have a bite of chitlins, greens and black eyed peas for health, wealth & good luck. I used to eat Chitlins but hasn’t in years for one reason, I am “nigga-free”. I refuse to let anything I eat, say, or wear resemble a nigga.

But like many of the other posts on this blog,black folks need to let a lot of stuff we got from slavery go. Self hatred, neck tattoos, cooning, bootleg Christianity, showin out in public Flavor Flav and Gucci mane, we need to let that stuff go

30 12 2009
Melissa

Some have B! They call themselves “Creole”…lol

30 12 2009
Brandale

No… Whenever a real black man eats chitlins. Someone in America, a baby elephant dies & a real black woman gives up says she wants to audition to be on the Real & Chance show… I refuse kill any baby elephants on New Years…

2 01 2010
B.W.1205

LoL @ “nigga-free”!!!!!!! And to think I was the only one that talked like that…I tell ppl all the time I don’t like “nigga stuff”.

“B. did u see 106 & Park?”
– “No, I don’t watch nigga TV.”
“B. did u hear so&so on the radio?’
– “No, I don’t listen to nigga music.”
(just an example)

I’m so sick of black folk being stereotypical black “niggas”…..can y’all please stop shucking & jiving, coooning & clowning!!! LoL…thank you Brandale!

30 12 2009
Brandale

And um fuck whatcha heard… Creole were not the one eating chitlins, hog maws and slave food. Those were mostly rich, light skinned aristocratic Negroes that combined French with black… They ate seafood, jamabalya, shrimp étouffée, binets…. in other words they were ‘nigga free’.

30 12 2009
Melissa

Hmmm…my comment meant Creole folks never indulges in these types of foods. I grew up eating the above foods you mentioned and the only gizzards I ate where in rice dressing…

30 12 2009
Will Ivey

Fried chicken gizzards is good eats

30 12 2009
Eternity

I totally 100% agree w/you! Jus wish it had me in tears from laughin like pervious posts

30 12 2009
Tinkerbell

I agree with u 100%! Who in thier right mind would want to dine on such nastiness? We are in 2009 & these fools are still buying that mess by the bucket loads! Someone is making a huge profit off of idiots! Just like u Nile: I’m Cool On That! SMDH @ the foolishness!

30 12 2009
melody

I first smelled this mess when I was like ten at my friends house…I sat outside for hours cuz of da smell! I will NEVER n I do mean NEVER eat this mess! We too grown to eat shit like this (literally)! WHEN U KNOW BETTER U DO BETTER! So plz so better!

30 12 2009
Will Ivey

Chitlins is good eats. You buy a 10 pound bucket and clean them right, then you got 5 pounds of good eats. The reason most of them stink is because some people are lazy and the 10 pounds of pre-cleaned chitlins and cook them right away. But you still gotta clean those as well. Cold water and vinegar is how you clean them, never with bleach. You gotta take your time when you clean them. When cleaned correctly, they don’t stink while they’re being cooked.
Every summer my family slaughters a pig and we cook the WHOLE thing. I’m not above eating pig feet. And pig ears taste great when cooked in with black eye peas (adds a lil crunch to it). And don’t forget about the hog head cheese.

30 12 2009
Shante

Ummmm, can I get invited to your summer family function…because yall are eating well =)

30 12 2009
jacqueline

When I was a kid my mom will cook them. I liked them. Once I grew up and found out what it was…. I will never touch or eat those things again!! Mexicans call them tripas. Yukkk!!!

30 12 2009
pri-diddy

I THINK THEY ARE A DELICACY IN OTHER COUNTRIES…CUZ Anthony Bordain eats em and I believe everything he says….
I for one will ever ever ever EVA EVA EVA in life put one of those in my mouf…thank you. and bye.

30 12 2009
Audizzle

I am not a pig supporter (Deuteronomy 14:4), but regardless of that, I would never eat something that stanks all-to-be damned for three days past it’s cooking date (i.e. M&M’s on King are notorious offenders). They smell and taste like sh**, period. Hot sauce will not solve all flavor problems! By the way WHO is the jar of pickled pig feet at the liquor store for? They stink too! Who’s eatin’ this stuff when they HELLA got HELLA chicken at Fresh n’ Easy?!

30 12 2009
Will Ivey

Deuteronomy 14:4?? Really?? Then you finish talking about chicken??

http://imcoolonthat.com/2009/11/13/2-bootleg-christians/

30 12 2009
Audizzle

Yep! I was merely suggesting an alternative. I said “I” am not a pig supporter, and I always bring up Deut. when my folks ask me “why” as a reason because that’s just how I roll as a partial bootleg christian, but I’m certainly no holy roller. CHUUCH!

30 12 2009
Vanessa G

My friends keep telling me to try it but just of eating it doesn’t sit well with me. Since, they see me eat birria (goat) they say I can eat chitlin’s. Nile, I’m with U on this one. I’M SO COOL ON IT

30 12 2009
Shante

I guess my black side is in full force on this one…because I love me some chitlins. When cleaned properly, cooked all the way and with a dash of hot sauce…it’s the BOMB.

LMFAO @ IF YOU HAVE TO CLEAN YOUR MEAT WITH BLEACH..SOMETHING IS NOT RIGHT!!!

30 12 2009
Kali

Will you know just way too much about chitalins for my taste. My mother was a soul food chef and for punishment she would make me clean those things. I have never let one of those things touch my lips (forget it). When you see what you are cleaning out of them, believe me you don’t want to. Every year my family cooks chitalins and black eyed peas and they wrap up 4 uncooked peas from the bag and force me to carry them in my purse for good luck. I haven’t won the damn lottery yet, so what’s the point?

31 12 2009
PokerSnitch

LOL. Haven’t won Lottery yet. I m gonna do that this year…4 uncooked peas. Got it

30 12 2009
Kia

I used to work in a Soul Food restaurant when I was younger and used to tell people every Sunday we are out of Chitlins! So please don’t ask for them….just because of the smell of them…they smell far worse than SHIT!! How does that happen?????

30 12 2009
T. Trass

You already eat delicacies that aren’t that great for you.

Like the catfish and the sucker, the carp is primarily a “bottom feeder” meaning that they scour the bottom of their lair (pond, lake, river) looking for prey that crawls, walks or tries to hide amongst the weeds and grasses. This makes such fish more vulnerable to ingesting pollutants such as toxins (pesticides, PCB’s) and heavy metals (mercury, lead,) that sink to the bottom . ALL fish are susceptible to being “contaminated” by these pollutants, but the bottom feeders are exposed to more and greater amounts of these toxins because of the way they eat.

Other bottom feeders include:

Bottom feeding fish include flatfish (halibut, flounder, plaice, sole), eels, ling cod, haddock, bass, grouper, bream (snapper) and some species of catfish and shark.

Bottom feeding invertebrates include shellfish, crabs, crayfish, sea anemones, starfish, snails, bristleworms and sea cucumbers.

Lobsters are true bottom feeders, eating rotting fish from the sea floor.

30 12 2009
nileevans

YEAH, BUT I DON’T EAT THE INNER SHIT LINING OF ANY OF THOSE CREATURES. LOL

30 12 2009
Will Ivey

If you throughly clean your shrimp, then you do

30 12 2009
pycees312

Hilarious….. man I have not seen anyone eat them in years however reading this i can just imagine that awful smell again.. YUCK.

30 12 2009
emancipatedlamb

I heard of, but didn’t actually know what “chitlin’s” were because we’re not on them in the UK, but Ewwwwwww.com!!!

Hilarious as always Nile! I’d love to converse with you; you’d have me in a constany state of fits!

30 12 2009
MeSBee

Did you say… SHITLINS!!???? Hahahah! I don’t think I’ve ever read a post that literally made my stomach hurt! I can smell it from here! I can’t say anymore because I am gagging.
Nice post 🙂

30 12 2009
Glenn Ford

My rule of thumb when it comes to food…

If it don’t smell good it sure as hell ain’t going in my mouth…and Chitlin’s smell like shit!

30 12 2009
Meme

Thus far this is my favorite post! What a great way to wake up to something so funny! You just might have stopped someone from makin Chitlins this New Years. LOL! I’m going to stick with Gumbo this New Years!

31 12 2009
Glenn Ford

Thanks Meme! Gumbo all day long!

30 12 2009
atirehs

word! this entire post.
chitlins are gross. never tasted them, but if something stinks
or even looks gross im not gonna eat it. im just picky like that
& about what black people eat on new years
for prosperity, i have never eaten black eyed peas
nor greens, for that matter.
*kanye shrug*

30 12 2009
Octavia Yancey

LMAO!!! That is hi-la-ri-ous…my mother just recently STOPPED making them…that is some FUNKY smelling sh*t…and for GOOD reason..so I would agree with you on this Niles…I will eat a lot of things BUT SHITLINS..nah “I’m COOL on that” 😉 LOL

30 12 2009
Tonette Lansdowne

Thank you for saying it. Thank you.

30 12 2009
Nene Favors

i eat em! yeah, i said it!!!!!!!!!! lol i aint jumpin on ur bandwagon….i grew up eating em….my family is WHITE! lol the thought of wat they REALLY are IS nasty but hail, ppl still think SNAILS or FISH EGGS are of “expensive” taste…but those are GROSS! LOL…

23 12 2010
Abby

now that is a hellva come back!!! I “still” eat ’em too. @ least twice a year, I get a craving for ’em. If cleanned right they do NOT smell nor was I aware they were cheap{$14 plus taxes for 5lbs?}. lol-yes it is “thought” of to be an expensive taste{fish eggs & snails}. I’m “not” following the theory @ all-by eattng hog mogs & chitlins we are in captivity? People of MANY colors eat chitlins. This very comment proves that. The reply on the taste of fish eggs-is an EYE OPENER. We all have different taste buds. My grandmother past, I was never in slavery. I have no thoughts of slavery when eatting them. I only have found memories of my grandparents. Older family members in my church family that have past away & different neighbors on my grandparents block when cooking them. Church basement fun raisers of BBQ, bake offs & things of that nature. When wearing certain clothing is there thought given to the sweat shops or prisoners who made the items?It’s along the same line. When purchasing 10 pounds you only get 5 pounds or 4 1/2 pounds after you prepared ’em right. How is that cheap?Even buying already clean ones you STILL must clean ’em. I do not use bleach…….vinegar{I add lemon juice &/or lime juice with it}. Lots of people eat pinto beans or ANY form of beans period should that too be looked upon with the same thinking process? Gumbo/goo losh? It is Slavery! Does anyone know the TRUE history on pizza?? Everything has history, we all represent “something” without that something evolution would not exist. Music, food & style has history-should we change our national athem? We all represent, introduce and pass on tradition in OUR OWN ways. There are STILL many that STILL do not vote. STILL sit in the back of the bus. This is hertiage-MANY children have eaten a peanut butter & jelly sandwhich or bolony sandwhich. I can’t believe the comment was even made about they place MORE of that in the community! We all are entitled of our thoughts & we have freedom of speech. Every family has it’s own tradition………the old church songs ALL have to do with slavery. You guys even brought the scripture INTO this. come one yall-NOT ONE person said STOP with the judgements! Eat what makes you happy if your able. Try new things, my co-worker is ALWAYS eatting monkey brain. I didn’t judge her, I tried it one day and it’s GREAT! Clinton proved we are ALL the same. The new president prove that WE ARE BECOMING “MORE” open minded. There can be MANY views on this, as well as approaches. Nene Favors stated his family is Caucasian. Reflect on how it makes this entire post look, our comments & the thoughts expressed. I have mul. racial family-I myself am mixed, so our my children. We eat food of MANY Nationalities-Thanksgiving has always been flavorable. To younger generations who may come across this, don’t reject tasting chitlins for the sole reason of believing it’s ignorant or disrespectful to your africian americian hertiage. My entire family is made of physicians, suregons, lawyers & law enforcement agents. We all have degrees, home owners & own practices. If you’d like to see a asian, latino, pacific islander, africian americian, caucasian, nigerian & hungarian eat some chitlins……………YOUR WELCOME TO THANKSGIVING DINNER!!

30 12 2009
Jeffrey

Audizzle is right, this is also mentioned in Leviticus 11:7-8. So if you claim you love Christ, you would follow the laws and commandments as he did.

John 14:15 “If ye love me, keep my commandments”

John 15:10 “If ye keep my commandments, ye shall abide in my love; even as I have kept my Father’s commandments, and abide in his love.”

When Christ walked the earth, he did not do away with the laws or commandments:

Matthew 5:17-19 “Think not that I am come to destroy the law, or the prophets: I am not come to destroy, but to fulfill. For verily I say unto you, Till heaven and earth pass, one jot or one tittle shall in no wise pass from the law, till all be fulfilled. Whosoever therefore shall break one of these least commandments, and shall teach men so, he shall be called the least in the kingdom of heaven: but whosoever shall do and teach them, the same shall be called great in the kingdom of heaven.”

However, when he died on the cross, only then was the law of offering and sacrifice done away with. You can read Hebrews 10:1-10 and Daniel 9:27 to confirm that.

I post this out of love and not to judge anyone as Christ said Matthew 7:1 “Judge not, lest ye be judged.” Apostle Paul also wrote in Romans 14:11-12 “For it is written, As I live , saith the Lord, every knee shall bow to me, and every tongue shall give account of himself to God.” If you read through Romans 14:1-12, you’ll see that Paul is saying that we should not judge one another on account of what people eat because at the end, we will ALL be judged by the Most High.

Peace and blessings!

30 12 2009
Will Ivey

Jesus wept

31 12 2009
PokerSnitch

LOL. I wept too. 1 Timothy 4:3-5. I mean if we talking Truth *Jesus Shrug*

30 12 2009
Audizzle

Thanks Jeffrey, Will be hatin’ LOL ( : > )

Much love to all, no matter who/what you eat.

30 12 2009
Brandale

What about Matthew 6… Kinda skipped over that one huh??? Reread it and stop trying to show out!!! Bootleg!!! Yep, I said it!! Need a few verses???

30 12 2009
Jeffrey

Peace Brandale,
I’ve read and reread Matthew 6, ok, so what’s in there that applies to this convo? Please by all means, bring out those verses so that me and others can gain even new understanding. My post was in the spirit of Matthew 5:17-19 acknowledging that there may be someone out there that came across this post that was not aware of what was cool to eat or not and be a revelation to them in regards to the topic of this blog. Be assured I was not showing out, but simply adding relevant scriptures to the topic.

Not to get totally off topic here, but what did you mean by “Bootleg”? I did notice the term “Bootleg Christian” in one of your earlier posts.

31 12 2009
30 12 2009
Jes

The joy of opinions….I don’t think I’ve ever had CHITTERLINGS… but in my “Guatemalan’s” culture we have Buche tacos, I think it’s the same thing. I have had the awesome Tubbies in other culture’s food (Vietnam has very good foods) and it thought it was delishhhh! Other countries take pride in this type of food and they don’t view it as a wrong or mal food. It’s seen as the opposite.

I say leave the history behind (hence its hx) and enjoy what you enjoy! Just because something may have mal history for one people, does not mean it has mal hx for other people.

Enjoy your Pork Tubbiness!

30 12 2009
R.A. Lumas

Ok… anyone..and I mean ANYONE (Will Ivey, Nene Favors) who still eats chitlins, needs to turn in all of their modern technology, forced to move into their White neighbor’s backyard (perferably in the dog house), have their voting rights revoked, & get 13 lashes from a whip! Yall said “we grew up eating them!” Like its a good thing… Well I grew up gettin ASS WHOOPINS.. that dont mean i still want them! Our families ate that shit (literally) because they HAD to… I’m sure Great-Great-Great aunt Nessie spent 4 days, and went through 239.7 pounds of pig assholes til she found the ONLY way possible to cook/eat them! We are in a different time now… lets put the COONERY behind us people!

30 12 2009
Darren

Eating dead animal flesh is bad enough but eating dead animal ass is the worse!
I have no idea what it taste like because common sense won’t let me eat food that STINKS!!!!

30 12 2009
Divaxtra

Thank you 4 posting this! That pig is disgusting on every level! Please stop comparing other food to that stinking ugly snotty nose pig that takes a bath in mud. “Oh if you cook it good enough you kill the worms” or “Soak them overnight to kill the smell”! WTF why would you intentionally eat something that smell like it died and died again? Everybody that eats pork look like they do! The slave masters fed them pig intestines because they felt that the slaves was scum of the earth, so what better way to show you- feed you shit!!!!! Only NIGGERS with slave mentality will ingest the intestines of that filthy beast!

30 12 2009
CoaCoa

I eat them!!!! I will not lie. I know what they are they are intestines not sh**! The only time you eat the shit is if you don’t clean them properly. I don’t care if they were introduced in the slave days, if it tastes good I am going to eat it and will continue to unless I go vegan! People eat chitterlings all over the world not just here in the US. Google that ish. If you don’t like it…I don’t care. That just means more for me! LMAO

30 12 2009
nileevans

Well aware of the organ. So you would run the risk of someone missing a spot and eating some Doo-Doo? LOL YOU CAN HAVE MY PLATE!! lol Thanks for the comment!!

30 12 2009
CoaCoa

Nile, send it over. lol I get what you are talking about. No love lost! My grandmother used to raise hogs and chickens and had a big ass garden in the country. I have seen what the pigs and hogs eat and how they were cleaned and chopped and ok I will spare the details. But I will say that you cannot eat everyone’s chitlins, just like you cannot eat everybody’s cooking. I know how to clean them properly and if it’s not coming from either my mom’s or my own house?! Hayell NO. I will definitely pass.

30 12 2009
Andrea

I don’t know anyone in my generation that eats Chitterlings, my father only stopped because my mom (who doesn’t eat them anyway) stopped cooking them like 10 years ago. My brothers and I didn’t grow up on them, grew up smellin it, yuuuuck, but not eating them. I thought it phased out by now, guess not.

30 12 2009
Ms.Shera

LMAO… Fortunately for me I’ve never had them and my family don’t eat them… So, I’m cool on that

30 12 2009
Adrian Henderson

Gotta disagree. I eat them cuz they are good. I know the history of chitterlings but that’s just it. History! A delicacy is what ppl consider good eating. I don’t eat them saying “I wonder what my ancestors think of me now”. I’m thinking “pass da cornbread”.

30 12 2009
nileevans

LOL, I RESPECT THAT ADRIAN…BUT READ THOSE LAST COUPLE LINES AGAIN! LOL

30 12 2009
twittaddict76

That is the nastiest shit ever!!! Last BBQ I went to..somebody had the nerve to bring there potato salad in the Chittlins container!! I mean we already know how black folks are about potato salad…then yo cheap ass gonna put in that. They probably used some $1 store soap to wash it…#imCOOLonTHAT

30 12 2009
Samantha

hilarious!!!!!!!!!!!

30 12 2009
Chocolate Richard

LMAO! Man I don’t even know why people still eat it, this is fucking comedy!

30 12 2009
Tawni Rose

Ive been saying this since I learned the history of a chiterling. Amen Nile. Amen.

30 12 2009
Arianna

Though my fam is from N.O I am COOL on the “booty tube” (LMAO)…Melissa, not suprised if the Boudin casing is made out of the same thing since it’s just the rest of the pig..(liver, heart etc)…ok gonna be sick now.

31 12 2009
missangieaquino

haha u r too much!!! them shits are nasty though!!!

31 12 2009
Priscilla

AHAHAHAHAHA!!

“IF YOU HAVE TO CLEAN YOUR MEAT WITH BLEACH..SOMETHING IS NOT RIGHT!!!

“It has to be the most Disrespectful Piece of Meat that ANYONE could ever Serve”

I love this one and all of the things you’re cool on, quite frankly- I too am cool on most everything you’re cool on!!
Much love and thank you for bloggin’ the truth and simply stating what so many people just simply need to know!! 😉

31 12 2009
Candi

Yeah…. you don’t have to like chitlins, but why do people that do have to be slave-minded? I swear some people take this hilarious bloog way too seriously. Food that originated from slavery: barbecue, yams, greens, cornbread, peas, okra, eggplant, watermelon… the list goes on and on.

So the next time you sit down to a plate of barbecue, sweet potatoes, or ask for cornbread, you should roll your hat up in your hands, and do a lil’ jig. Because you have yet to let go of your slave-like ways.

P.S. Can’t wait to see the news broadcasting the “uppity negroes” shucking n jiving everywhere. lmao

31 12 2009
Danak

First of all bwahahahahahahaha________________________ I’ve heard of chitlins but have never eaten it. Based off your description alone I will not now or ever will be interested in eating that shit. Stank you very much! lol

31 12 2009
Stacey Marie Robinson

seriously nile, since i’ve discovered your blog and tweets, i’m over television. you’re a guaranteed laugh EVERY freakin day! this is my entertainment!!!

that being said…i’m canadian-born & have jamaican parents, so i just always assumed that chitlins were something that african-americans loved….little did i know!!

calling it a “Disrespectful Piece of Meat” is classic. not even the act of eating it. the meat ITSELF is disrespectful?!?! tooooooooo funny!

31 12 2009
Chris

That’s the bullshit literally, how could u fix ur mouth to eat such a thing, that’s so before slavery type shit.. i was just talkin to this chick the other day on our way to dinner and she was sayin that she had eatin shitlins over the holiday, needless to say there wasn’t any desert…LMFAO….

31 12 2009
NeXplicableP

My mother would cook that mess and every other part of the pig no one wanted (i.e. pig feet, pig tail, pig ears, pig nuts *PAUSE*) Needless to say, I didn’t eat dinner those nights and could not wait until I was old enough to leave home. Because even though I didn’t eat that mess, I was not excluded from having to clean them thangs and then be subjected to smelling them ruin the scent of any air freshener, spray, clothing, hair, whatever was in the house at the time they were cooking. I just knew when I went to school I smelled like chitterlings :'(…oh the shame and embarrassment. Now that I have left home, pig is banished from my house. I neither cook nor eat ANY part of the pig. AMEN!!

31 12 2009
MarlyLew

I complete agree with you! Chitterlings are nasty and they stink! But scrapple, on the other hand, is the scraping of the pig stomach…and that stuff is GOOD, especially mixed with scrambled eggs and diced onions! LOL!

31 12 2009
randiikimi

” I’s loves me some mummmmu mumm chitlin’s….I guess I’s just a po’ole backwater negra…but mummm mumm theys shole is good to me”

31 12 2009
Aisha

LMFAO! I’ve never tried chitlins simply bcuz I didn’t know what they were. Next time one of my black friends invite me over for dinner and SHITLINS is on the menu, I’m goin straight for the mashed taters!

31 12 2009
Cynthia

It is the most disgusting thing I have ever smelled! I saw someone eat a whole cup of it, I almost threw up!!

31 12 2009
urRoyalFliness

LmaO..so true!

31 12 2009
Neisha

That is so true. We don’t do those in the Miller household. That is the most horrible smelling stuff in the world. Why would they eat that

31 12 2009
PokerSnitch

Wow. Tough topic. Thoughts seem to range from disgust/yuck to yum/pass the cornbread. Weird, strange, what have you foods span the globe. Just to dumb it down a bit…I like pickles and can’t stand relish. The history of a certain food should not have any bearing on ones epicurian palate. Almost like saying “I’m punctual always on time and can’t stand laziness. I don’t eat pretzels because the baker fell asleep. Eating pretzels is synonymous with being lazy.” Really? Sounds dumb hunh? or even “I don’t eat pretzels because I’m not Christian. And the history of the pretzel shape is to represent Christians in prayer.” But to play devil’s advocate, I make my kid eat one, JUST to remember what what so accurately stated “that was all MY ANCESTORS had to eat.” If its the SHIT aspect that bugs you out. We eat so much fecal matter knowing and unknowingly it will make your head spin. Buffet serving utensils, shrimp doo doo line, and if you drink spring water…Deer Shit. BonApetit.

31 12 2009
PokerSnitch

epicurean palette = I m sleepy grammar police. And I spellchecked grammar. Yall wouldve really got on me saying grammer. lol

31 12 2009
LaMonica

I’ve been sayin da same shit 4 years! I just don’t understand da mentalityof some people!!

31 12 2009
Nakia

LMAO…hilarious, and so true!! My mother tried to cook them when she came to visit me one Thanksgiving –absolutely not in my house! I think I will share your blog with her and maybe she will turn over a new leaf this NYE.

I’m with Glen …if it don’t smell good its not going in my mouth.

31 12 2009
Tawni Rose

Mom said to cut the smell down put a potato in it. Enjoy.

31 12 2009
Rose Anzuree

I never ate “Chitlin’s before……and from what, I have heard about them, I do not intend to ever eat them!!!!!

31 12 2009
Will Ivey

PokerSnitch made an interesting comment. If anyone has ever eaten shrimp, than you’ve eaten fecal matter. No matter how much you’ve cleaned the dookie line, there is always some in there. You can use bleach I suppose.

31 12 2009
t leo

Only in America!!!

T from London

31 12 2009
T

Funny thing is EVERYBODY has eaten pork and yet all ya’ll are still here to bitch about it.

Anybody else saying HMMMMMMMMM?

31 12 2009
T

Here meaning “alive” . So there is still life after (pork products) bacon, ham, sausage, links, ribs, hocks, chops, and wieners (hot dogs). Amazing!!!! Whodathunkit?

Especially after eating sea life that eats sh*t and ass off the ocean floor and when devouring other sea life too? Wow….

31 12 2009
Lovely

Hahahahahahahahahaha I follow you and you KEEP Me laUghing ALL THE TIME! I AGREE with this blog 100 N.E lmao! Smh and my Grandmother STILL eats them and saves the buckets 4 storage containers WHHHHHHHHYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!???? LMAO
**Hate walking in Grandma’s house during the Holidays**

31 12 2009
Lovely

Twitter— @lovely0203

Hahahahahahahahahaha I follow you and you KEEP Me laUghing ALL THE TIME! I AGREE with this blog 100 N.E lmao! Smh and my Grandmother STILL eats them and saves the buckets 4 storage containers WHHHHHHHHYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!???? LMAO
**Hate walking in Grandma’s house during the Holidays**

31 12 2009
T

Oh one more too. Chickens just ain’t pecking on feed all day long neither. Don’t you know they walk in sh*t and eat it off the floor accidentally quite freakin’ often of the bottom of the coop? In other words what animals eat becomes a part of them. Plants as well.

31 12 2009
LaNelle

Umm, You didn’t know I put a lil chitlin’s in that chicken gumbo you love so much! LOL

31 12 2009
Shay

Well compared to the rest off the shit ppl put in their bodies(drugs, liquor, etc)… and even other parts of the pig (everything they eat is part of every cut of meat), all the steroids n antibiotics n shit they pump animals with!

What about kool-aid? If it’s strong enough to die hair I wonder if it dies our insides?

31 12 2009
CoaCoa

Nile, I will have your plate ready tomorrow! You know you will want some AND you will get a fat kiss on the mouf right after. You’re welcome.

1 01 2010
Jessica Elise

LMAOOOOOOOOO…Ok I need a man like you in my life funny and articulate.You wanna get married? omg I am puking thinking of this.

1 01 2010
nileevans

THANKS SWEETIE. NILEEVANS@GMAIL.COM AND YOU CAN SEND YOUR “RESUME” LOL

1 01 2010
1love

Amen brother! When I lived in Texas people used to try to get me to eat ’em but NUH uh! My black family ain’t touched them since the 1930’s.

1 01 2010
Arianna

Ok, Talked to someone (in the Mid west) who was going to a new years day gathering for hors d’oeuvres… what else could it be but chitlins! smh…had to comment lol.

2 01 2010
Georgina

I am sharing this with all my friends and family. I have never eaten shitlings a day in my life and I never will. My neighbor used to cook them every Thanksgiving and the whole floor would stink so damn bad.

2 01 2010
Jacquie

Come on are you people serious? I am a very intelligent African American woman who loves Chitlins…I don’t give a damn if it’s slave food or not. Hell today is New Years 2010 and I plan on making some with compliments of my mothers recipe.
I bet most of you are quick to give your kids milk and and a hotdog but I don’t see you talking shit about that.
It is what is and to each their own my family has eaten chitlins for years and if they are living to be in their 90’s hell I will continue to eat them every year
CHITTLINS here I come 🙂

2 01 2010
JodiJos

BWAHAHAHAHAH!!!! PIG ASSHOLE LOL *BREATHEEEE* HAHAHLMFAO ROTF….I’ve seen someone clean out SHITLINS with a water hose….Now You know!! SMFH!!

2 01 2010
Nina Akiaten

LOL, you shit is funny to high heaven Nile…OMG, I can literally hear you speaking as I’m reading this..

2 01 2010
B.W.1205

LoL….I was once “hoodwinked & swindled” when my family had me eating that ish when I was younger…but NEVER AGAIN!!! Chitterlings/chitlins whatever….it’s just plain NASTY…that and pig feet and pig tails AND hog maws. ALL that is some hotmesstrashiness LoL!!! Imma stick to bacon and ribs…that’s the only pig I want thank you!

3 01 2010
Kade B.

LMBO! Hella funny, I have never understood the appeal of Chittlins, tripe, pigs feet, chicken feet (moms is West African) or any other strange body parts for that matter. Nope! I’ll just stick to the “normal” parts!

3 01 2010
latoya

My grandma is 92 and won’t feed them to her dog ( she feeds that bitch like its one of her kids). She told her son if he ever brought them in her house again she was gonna shoot him.

4 01 2010
twalkuf

once again you are absolutely correct!
The fact that this mess is even still allowed to be sold and consumed sickens me. What kills me is Negroes get PISSED OFF if you talk bad about chitterlings ( Someone told me that I needed to learn my history and stop talking bad about chitterlings) um… naw nigga I studied biology and anatomy and there is nothing historic about eating entrails

4 01 2010
twalkuf

ok…and the pic on here just KILLED ME

4 01 2010
T

I find it extremely hypocritical that some of you talk about not going backwards when it comes to eating this “slave” food but find no problem calling each other by the slave name of NI**A. Just something to wake yourself up to. Anyone dare to comment? First of all though I am not 60 something years old either. I did not walk with Martin nor with Malcolm. I’m only 44. One major thing that happened in the past (that I thought would never happen to me) happened to me. During my first day of junior high school in Westchester, California, our bus was met outside by streets lined on both sides with white folks of all ages carrying picket signs with “NI**As go HOME!!!” and “We don’t want NI**as in our Schools and Neighborhood” We had to have a police escort our bus down the street every day that week.

So please don’t even try to come with the lame ass excuse that it is now a term of endearment. (i.e. homie, friend) It was, has, and always will be a derogatory term. So if you want to tout the evils of chitlins as TAKING US BACKWARDS then watch how you talk, dress, and act as well. Otherwise you just making a lot of noise as a pseudo-revolutionist which I (and countless others) are very much cool on that.

4 01 2010
nileevans

HUMOR SITE

5 01 2010
B.W.1205

But do you eat chitterlings/chitlins though? I mean, what’s the point in giving a speech if you don’t address the matter at hand?….I’mJustSayin

8 01 2010
Renee

Hahahaha, you’re funny… and I love it, but hold on now, chitlins weren’t just for slaves. I also dare say, I’m a good cook, if I could cook you a meal #9timesoutof10 you AND homeless people would like what I make. I was shaking my head and chuckling at that one… and yes I laughed out loud too. 😉 Let me close by sharing, THANK YOU for the laughter.

21 01 2010
DeeAna

I am still a slave who don’t have walkin papers because I LOVE chitlins and hog mog…esp during Christmas and New Year! mmmmmmmm

2 02 2010
Ashley

OMG that is HILARIOUS!

5 02 2010
TrueGolden

this is hillarious! but O-So true! SMH…..

14 02 2010
Jill

lmao you are funny I love reading your blogs

20 02 2010
Allen Hopkins

I think people should eat whatever they want. If hamburger was slave food, would you quit eating it? How stupid. I’ve never known anyone to get ecoli from eating chitllins, but Jack in the Box killed a few people with their burgers. I see some Black people are still ashamed of their heritage.I think Black people have more to be proud of than any other race. Inspite of what white america says, black people define family, intelligence, atletics and seem to excell at anything they put their hearts and minds to. Eating chittlins does not define a person and how stupid to think so..

6 03 2010
Tiffany L.

Every since I moved away from the South, I cannot even stand the smell of chittlings. In fact, I couldn’t even finish reading the post. I’m about to gag. Very good points though.. I really don’t understand why anyone, including my family, still eats them. Why is it a New Year’s Eve tradition to cook them anyway? I just don’t get it.

9 03 2010
DevonAshley

I’m from the South (Georgia) born && raised. And NEVER EVER in my 20 years of bein ALIVE have i EVER eaten chitlins.Why in the hell would i eat pig shxt??? Smh.

9 03 2010
Elizabeth

You are too funny, I feel you on this completely…..why haven’t I heard about you b4. Twitter? Lol

14 03 2010
Krystal

HAAAAAAAAAAA!! I from Texas and I tried to eat a spoonful of that mess and spit it back out hell naw we dont get down wit that! This shit was fuckin hilarious!! “I loves me some chitlins theys good”

2 05 2010
What are some of the local delicacies where you live? - share delicious, menus and more - Tasty Guide

[…] #7 CHITLIN'S (CHITTERLINGS) « imCOOLonTHAT.com […]

27 05 2010
kinksncurlz

I think I love you! This shiz was friggin’ HILARIOUS! Never had “chitlins,” and never will. The name even sounds gross.

30 05 2010
Hazel Burton

If only I had a greenback for every time I came here.. Incredible writing!

16 06 2010
Chitlin’s (Chitterlings) | SicklyCat.com

[…] Source: Chitlins […]

13 11 2010
Lanie

*does handbone dance* woo hoo~!!

anyway…there are way more “disgusting” foods in the world besides chitterlings that’s considered delicacies. lol my family is cooking 50lbs of it this Thanksgiving. *in my Wendy Williams voice* “how U doin ??”

22 11 2010
Sylvia V. Hillman

It’s Poo. Poop. Shit. Boo Boo. Crap. Fecal Matter. It’s nasty and its a no no. Cover it in a million dollars and you can still wipe it off the bottom of your shoe – just because its bleached boo boo doesn’t mean you put it in your mouth. Whats to stop people from eating dog poop or HUMAN poop! Poo is Poo.. “Hey girl can you please bring me a plate of macaroni, greens, corn bread and pig shit and slather some hot sauce and gravy on it – and don’t forget my Juice”! sheeeeeeit I wish a twigga wood. Yes I said wood. As in I wish for a wooden plank to magically appear and wack him upside his head if he thinks he will ever ever ever EVER kiss or come near me with feces in the DNA of his throat. I am sooooo cool on that! Thanks Nile. Tis the Season to be Poo-Free!

1 12 2010
Yuji

i love chitlins btch! people like u are ignorant as sht. black people aint the only people on this earth to eat chitlins or somethin similar to it. what pisses me off is when u fvcks say we ‘eatin sht’ like nggas is just sittin down at the table stuffin terds in they mouth. grow the fck up. u mthrfckrs is the real reason why blacks would be set back 100 years. and thats cause u still ignorant thinkin u better than the next. if u got a problem take ya ass and go eat with the white folk u buncha uncle tom ass house nggas.

3 12 2010
Tshepiso Gower

True story. That slavery imitation had me in stitches..

23 12 2010
Tamika J

I clean my chicken with a bleach solution sometimes, so I guess we need to scrap that too? What about other organ meats or meat in general that once had blood rushing through it to sustain a living, breathing animal? I guess blood over shyt then?

What about crabs, some fish and shrimp who are bottom feeders and even eat on dead bodies. Yes, my great-aunt has a great story about seeing a dead body pulled from a river and crabs hanging off of it all over. The crabs were eating the dead body and whomever consumed those crabs were consuming that dead body. And unless you remove that dark ‘vein’ in your shrimp you are eating its shyt as well.

What about snails, bull testicles, tripe/menudo, brain, heart, kidneys, liver etc?

Why do people still eat chitlins…because they taste good. Plain and simple. It has nothing to do with what slaves used to do. Give me a break!

23 12 2010
Tamika J

Oh to cut the smell, place a peeled, whole onion in the pot. Bay leaves help as well.

27 03 2011
Paul F

I was picking up some tripe the other day and stumbled across frozen chitlins. Thanks to many people here I now know to cook them outside.

Leave a Reply

